Skip to Main Content
Library Logo WOU Home Library Home
Search the library catalog (Primo)
Search WOU Digital Collections
Alma (Library Staff)

Library Tour: First Floor

Basic Information about the Hamersly Library for new students and employees

First Floor

 

First Floor

 

Information/Reference & Checkout Desks

 

 The Information and Reference Desk

Information services include:

  • Answering and routing telephone calls
  • Issuing guest parking permits
  • Helping patrons with general library and campus questions
  • Assisting with basic computer and printing technical problems
  • Assisting with staff and faculty member needs

Reference services include:

  • Answering detailed study and research questions
  • Instructing patrons on the use of library resources and materials

 

 The Checkout & Reserves Desk
Checkout & Reserves services include:
  • Checking in and out materials
  • Processing course reserves
  • Helping patrons use equipment or locate materials

 

First Floor Collections

 

The Reference Collection

The career collection can be found in the first shelf of the reference collection. It contains test prep materials and study guides.

  • ORELA, MCAT, LSAT, etc.

 

After the test prep, the reference collection is located in the western shelves. These are library use only. 

 

Faculty Publications

Publications written or edited by WOU faculty can be found under the stairs in the lobby. Some texts can be accessed online or be read at the library.

For more information, go to research.wou.edu/publications. 

 

"Recreational" Reading Collection

"Recreational Reading" collection items are primarily available in the Learning Commons area. 

Recreational books can also be viewed digitally here, https://library.wou.edu/recreational/, as well as recreational eBooks and audiobooks. 

 

Newspapers and Magazines

Current and back issues of newspapers and magazines are in the last row of the Reference Collection.

 

The Audio-Visual (A-V) Collection

DVDs, CDs, and VHS tapes are all available in the Audio-Visual Collection located in the northwest section of the floor.

Recreational DVDs can be found at the end of the DVD section. 

 

Microforms (microfilm and microfiche)

Microforms are located along the wall south of the reference computers.

There is one digital microform reader in the Copy Center.

 

Back to Top

First Floor Technology

 Computers
Computers are located throughout the first floor. 
 
Virtual Machines

VMWare computers are connected directly to WOU servers and allow access to a wider variety of programs than the physical PCs.

These computers are currently found behind the reference desk, near the copy center, and within classroom HL108.
 
 

Physical PCs/Macs

Two Mac computers are available for student use on the East side of the library.

There is a PC available in the copy center hooked up to a Microfiche reader.

 

KIC Scanner

The KIC overhead scanner is located behind the Information Desk and is available for student use.

 

The Copy Center

 

In the Copy Center, located next to the Checkout Desk, there is:

  • A copier/scanner

  • A digital microform reader

  • Two paper cutters
 

 

Back to Top

First Floor Spaces

Classrooms HL107 and HL108

HL107 and HL108 are located at the south end of the floor.

  • HL107 is located under the lobby stairs while HL108 is located to the side of the stairs. 

Both smart classrooms are available for reservation.

HL 108 is also available for general use when not reserved.

 

HL 106 (The 24-Hour Room)

A student lounge is in the west entrance vestibule, and also doubles as a classroom for instructional use.

Computers, a printer, a snack-vending machine, and a unisex restroom are available.

A Sorenson VRS video phone is also housed. This video phone is especially useful for people who are deaf or hard of hearing.


 

The Learning Commons

The Learning Commons (LC) is located at the north end of the first floor.

This area houses:

  • mobile furniture
  • whiteboards
  • tables for group study use.

 

 

Other Learning Areas

Besides the Learning Commons, there are multiple group study areas scattered throughout the 1st floor.

 

 

The Press
(Library Coffee Shop)

The Press is located at the far north side of the building. For hours and menu, info can be found at wou.edu/dining/campus-coffee/.

 

Back to Top

Click to chat with WOUAsk WOU Library