FAQS
The periodicals start with the tall shelves on the left side of the aisle in the reference collection. The periodicals and journals are arranged alphabetically by title. They start with ‘A’ and go through ‘J’ on the first floor. The periodicals continue on the second floor with ‘K’ through ‘Z’ on the same side of the room, so just take the elevator or go up the main stairs, and as you head down the center aisle they’ll be on the left.
Note: this sounds like a straightforward directional question, but it is often a reference question in disguise. Always ask if the patron has a specific citation they are looking for, and follow up with appropriate questions to determine whether the patron should be referred to the librarian on duty for help finding needed articles.
Unless the patron has a specific citation and just needs to know where the journal is located, this is most likely a reference question. Be prepared to draw the reference person into the interaction depending on the depth of the question. Always refer the question to the reference person if you are tempted to say that we do not have or can not access a particular item.
Is the patron looking for a journal or a book? If the item is a book, do a title search in the Library Catalog and then in Summit. If the patron has a journal title, do a title search in the Library Catalog using the periodical title list and see if it comes up. If it does, what’s the call number, on which floor is it located, and is it available? Is the item on microfilm or microfiche? If so, offer to show the patron how to locate the microform and use the microform readers. Turn the screen toward the patron and go through the screens slowly so the patron can see where you are finding the information.
Instructors put books and other materials on reserve for their students. To see what a particular instructor has on reserve, start at the library home page. Choose the ‘course reserves’ option and then enter the course abbreviation and number (e.g. WR 115). Show the patron where to find the call number and explain that they should write the number down and then take it to the checkout desk.
If a patron wants to use the digital microform reader, they can reference the user guide on the counter by the machine. The older machines have cards explaining how to use them. If you’re uncomfortable using these, refer the patron to your on-call reference person.
Yes. Our audiovisual collection is on the first floor. From the main lobby, go down the center aisle. Video materials are located in the last row of shelves on the left and audio materials are located on the second to last set of shelves on the right. There are also recreational videos (more recent, popular movies) available in the recreational collection on the first floor, just after the Audio and Video sections.
Some of our study rooms are equipped with VCRs, DVD players, and boom boxes. The items are on rolling carts and can be moved between rooms.
The most common style manuals are APA, MLA and sometimes the Chicago Style Manual. We have copies of these manuals in the collection. To find style manual call numbers in the Library Catalog, do a keyword search of ‘style manual’ and you should see entries for each of the most popular. Please note that the APA style manual is called the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association.
There are also links to APA and MLA on our research guides.
If someone needs help using a citation manual, refer them to the reference person.
When appropriate, give the patron the call number for the necessary citation manual, or show the patron how to get to the style and citation manual resources on our website (see directions above) and then point out the link under APA called ‘citing electronic resources’ or the link under MLA called ‘MLA style FAQ’. If the patron has a very specific problem that can’t be solved by looking at the research guide, then refer them to the on-call reference person.
This is a reference question. We have many print and online resources for biographical information. In the reference collection, general biographical reference materials are in the CTs. There are also biographical resources within specific subject areas, such as literature or science. Wilson Biography Search Plus is one example of an online database that indexes biographical information.
English and non-English dictionaries are in the reference collection together. They are arranged by type of language, and English is actually between the romance languages and Russian. If you take a patron to that reference section, understand that there are non-English language dictionaries on both sides of the English dictionaries. This will make sense when you look at that section. To locate language dictionaries in the Library Catalog, do a keyword search. For French, do a keyword search of French language dictionary. For German, do a keyword search of German language dictionary, etc. Assure the patron that they are welcome to take the dictionary and use it at their workstation. Also mention that there are various dictionaries in the general stacks that are available for checkout if the patron is looking for something to take out of the library. Tell them that they do not have to reshelve materials; we like to do the reshelving because we take statistics on what is being used.
When appropriate, determine the exam for which the patron is studying and look in the Library Catalog to see if there is a study manual available. For example, if the patron is studying for the GRE, look up GRE as a keyword search in the Library Catalog. You will see a number of entries under GRE, many of which are study manuals. Does the patron need study material for a particular subject or section, or something that covers the entire test? Is the patron looking for something to take home or to use here in the library? Has the patron already looked online?
This is an information question. Are the slides online? If so, save them as a PowerPoint presentation first so the option for printing as a handout will appear under printing. This allows the patron to choose how many to print per page.
One piece installed outside the West Portico is called Three Elements, by Michihiro Kosuge.
The three stone sculptures outside the Hamersly Library are by Portland artist, Michihiro Kosuge, a Professor of Art at Portland State University, who has numerous installations in Oregon, Washington, and California, including many commissions for public buildings. The artist entitled his work "Three Elements." He considers the sculpture nearest the sidewalk and street as an entrance marker for the library. The markings on the sculpture, made of basalt rock from the Columbia River Gorge, evoke the image of a winter tree. The boulder on the south retaining wall of the entry plaza is made of black Sierra granite. The main work, near the building entrance, is a tall sculpture with different kinds of stone and shapes. The top stone is white Sierra granite, the middle is black Sierra granite, and the base is columnar basalt rock. Kosuge explains that "each stone features a highly polished area to emphasize the play between man-made and natural textures. My hope is that the viewer 'discovers' the sculpture, enjoying its scale and texture and its relationship with the varying weather".
The tapestry that hangs in the main stairwell inside the Hamersly Library is entitled "Soliloquy", and was woven by Salem, Oregon artist and former instructor at Sprague High School, Shelley Socolofsky. Socolofsky has numerous installations throughout Oregon, including many in public buildings. Socolofsky uses "Gobelins Tapestry" technique, a method developed in Europe during the middle ages from century’s old cloth making traditions. Tapestries were used as a narrative documentation of the times and were considered extremely valuable. They were often traded for prisoners of war and decorated the insides of war tents, churches, castles and houses to prevent draft.
Artist's Design Concept: Upon ascending the staircase, the tapestry's imagery begins to unfold - as a journey of discovery and new awareness - a metaphor that is appropriate for a place of discovery through expanded knowledge, such as a university library. There is an 'opening' within the maiden's forehead - a cloudscape suggesting imagination, open-minded thinking, creative expansion, and a search for new ideas. Her hair flows upward above her head. Her hair begins to transform into winter tree branches. At the top of the tapestry she has metamorphosed into a tree. There are baby birds in the tips of her branches - mouths open upward, symbolizing drinking in new knowledge, new thoughts, and new ideas. Excerpts from a Anne Sexton poem, are woven into the tapestry down each border. The text is legible yet subtle; its intention is meant more for rhythm than to be read literally.
From the library website, follow links to access the desired database. The proxy server will prompt the patron to enter his or her network username and password. To see a sample of the proxy server log in screen, go to the site index under p and choose proxy server- scroll down a bit and there will be a sample.
If the patron is entering information correctly at the prompt and is still unable to access the databases, it could be one of several issues:
- It may be that our records have not been updated since they registered for classes and so our system does not recognize them as authorized users. Notify the circulation supervisor.
- There could be a firewall or other operating system in place that does not allow our system to authenticate them as users.
- The patron may need to go to wou.edu/accountlookup and reset their password so the system will recognize it.
Several library computers are set up to go through the proxy server. Please write down the patron’s name and contact information, a description of the problem, the date and time, and your initials. Give this message to the reference person on duty, or to Jackson Stalley.
Summit, WorldCat, ILL, public libraries, bookstores, drive to another campus. Refer this question to the reference person on duty.
Do a keyword search in the Library Catalog and limit location to juvenile collection. If they can't find what they're looking for there, try searching the public library through www.ccrls.org.
Use the journal title search on the library homepage. Enter the title exactly or choose title keyword search. Entries will display each kind of access (paper, microform, electronic online, etc.) with coverage dates.
Follow-up by asking the patron if they are looking for a particular article or articles in general, and refer them to the reference person if they need help finding materials.
This is a reference question. When appropriate, if the reference person is assisting another patron, direct the patron to log on to a computer and show the patron how to access the subject links under journal articles and databases. The patron can log on and start browsing while waiting for the reference person.
Most maps are located on the East side of the first floor near the printers. Others are available in the oversize collection. You can also try a subject search using the name of the place followed by the word maps. This type of search will often bring up a few results, but it is not representative of our collection. You can also try a keyword search and limit the material type to maps. Atlases may also be helpful depending on what the patron is working on.
For an article, either use the database search or “find it @ wou”. If we have it, it will come up there. If it doesn’t come up, search in Google Scholar to see if it is accessible there. For books and other physical materials, search in Primo to see if it is available at WOU or through Summit. If it is not, check WorldCat to see if it can be requested there.
First determine the type of material to which the citation refers.
- Is it a book? Check our catalog. If we do not have it, check Summit. If Summit does not have it, check WorldCat.
- Is it an article? Determine the source, usually the name of the journal in which the article was published. After determining the article source, do a Journal Title search to see what kind of access we have for the specific volume and issue needed. Also search appropriate databases, including Academic Search Premier, Article First/First Search, and JSTOR.
Do the Desk Challenge called “Citation Challenge” as a way to learn how to track down citations. This can be found in the library's canvas page.
- At the checkout desk (in person or calling)
- At the info desk (in person or calling)
- Online from the library home page, choose My Library (right side of the screen). Log in using WOU portal login.
The Orbis Cascade Alliance is a consortium of academic libraries in Oregon and Washington that have agreed to share materials. The combined catalog of libraries participating in the consortium is called Summit. We often use Summit to refer to both the libraries and the catalogs. Summit libraries have agreed to share books. We ship and receive Summit books daily, Monday through Friday.
- An email (or text if the patron has set up text notifications) will be sent to the patron once the book is placed on the hold shelf. Ask the patron to check for an email or confirm that they received one.
- Checkout desk (in person or over the phone)
- Info Desk (in person or over the phone)
- View your own record online (see directions for renewing books)
The username is generally the first initial of the patron’s first name followed by the patron’s last name and the last two digits of the year he or she became a student at Western. For example, Kathy Alderson who became a student winter term 2006 would be kalderson06. If the patron has the same initial and last name of someone else on campus, then his or her patron name may follow a slightly different pattern. Patrons create a password by going to wou.edu/accountlookup and setting their email and network password. Their new password will be at least seven characters long and will include three of the following: an uppercase letter, a lowercase letter, a number, and a symbol. Patrons who forget their password can use the same process to set a new password (we are not able to look up passwords, so if a patron forgets, they will have to set a new one). The email username and password is the same as the network account name and password.
If they still can not log on, direct the patron to ITC 009 to report the problem or to call the UCS helpdesk at 8-8925. The UCS staff members who are able to resolve computer account problems are available Mon-Fri, 8:00am to 5:00pm, so after hours and on weekends offer to log them on as a community user and advise them to go to ITC 009 between 8:00am-5:00pm Mon-Fri.
- Unavailable/checked out?
- New book area? Reshelving cart?
- In reserve room?
- Oversized?
- In tech services?
- Found in Summit?
- Looking in general stacks instead of reference or vice-versa?
- On Microfilm or fiche?
- Not a book- maybe a journal, video, or cd?
- Juvenile collection?
- OAIM collection, not Curriculum or vice-versa?
From the library catalog, search for the "Oregon Revised Statutes" or the "Oregon Administrative Rules" to find a call number. These are located in the reference section and are available for in-library use only.
Sometimes a new set of eyes is needed when looking for a periodical. Patrons do not always understand that different issues of the same journals may be bound, loose, on microform, or in the viewing area. You may need to walk to the shelf and take a careful look to help them find the issue they need. If it is truly not on the shelf, is it checked out? Someone may be using the issue. Look on shelving carts. Refer to reference person for helping finding needed article online.
The periodical list will show the years, volumes, and issues we have for each journal, and also show the kind of format we have access to (paper, microform, online). Practice looking up journal titles and carefully studying the records so that you become very familiar with the way our library catalog shows our journal holdings. When you have time, go to the periodicals’ title list and enter New York Times. Click on the different kinds of format options and practice reading the holdings we have for each.
This is generally a reference question. We have ERIC documents (ED number) on microfiche. For ERIC journals, we have to look for the journal just as we would when tracking down any journal citation. We have ERIC indexed online through several vendors including Ebsco.
Guests can use computers so long as we have at least three available for students to use. We ask them to sign in at the Information Desk by showing a photo ID which we use to log their name into an excel spreadsheet along with the time they arrive, the login # we use, and the computer workstation #, and our initials. Tell the guest that if they will need to print anything, to let you or the reference desk worker know, as they will print to the Community Users printer located under the info desk. When the patron is done, enter the time logged out in our spreadsheet.
We do have a fax machine. It is located at the end of the 1st floor hallway by the elevator. It can only send, not receive, faxes. If patrons need to receive a fax, they can do so in the bookstore. They can also send from there at a slightly lower price than is available in the library.
For paying fines, direct people to the cashier’s window on the first floor of the Administration Building. Fines can also be paid from a student's WolfWeb account once the fee has been sent to the billing office. For disputing fines, there is a form at the checkout desk. Refer questions about fines to the circulation desk supervisor.