LibGuides: Chemical Literature: Structures, patents and more

Patents

Google Patents
Searchable on its own or as a subset of Google Scholar, Google patents searches more than 7 million patents and patent applications.

Chemical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Restricted to WOU chemistry students with STN login. Be sure to enter "z" in the Academic Port. Access is available from 5:00 pm until 11:45 pm Monday through Thursday, from 5:00 pm to 10:00 pm on Friday, from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm on Saturday, and from 12:00 noon to 11:45 pm on Sunday.

United States Patent and Trademark Office
Click on "Search" to access full-text issued patents (from 1976 - present) or published applications (since 2001)

These online web resources may help you in your research.

Chem.com Product Catalogs
Search WWW Chemicals and WWW Specialty Chemicals Catalogs by chemical name, molecular formula, CAS number plus other options
Journal Title Abbreviations (Core Journals Covered in CAplus)
Lists the journal abbreviation (short title), complete journal title and other info for the key/core journals indexed in the CAplus file on STN.
Spectral Database for Organic Compounds SDBS
A free site providing NMR and IR spectra. Click on "Search Compounds/Search NMR & MS/Display Spectra" to begin.
Symyx Draw
If you do not have a Symyx Web account, you must register and obtain an account before you download Symyx's no-fee products and information—Chime, Symyx Draw, ISIS/Draw, ISIS/Base Add-in for Symyx Draw, and CTfile Formats documentation. Registration is only required once to obtain an account.

ChemIDplus This link opens in a new window
The structure drawing and display program Marvin JS, from ChemAxon Ltd., is provided as the default for using ChemIDplus Advanced. The structures displayed as answers use standard web browser graphics (.png). Marvin also allows input from programs such as Biovia Draw.
PubChem This link opens in a new window
PubChem is a database with information on the chemical properties and biological activities of small molecules. It is organized as three linked databases within the NCBI's Entrez information retrieval system. These are PubChem Substance, PubChem Compound, and PubChem BioAssay. PubChem also provides a fast chemical structure similarity search tool. Structure searching within PubChem is at: https://pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/#draw=true

ChemSpider
Draw, import, or load structures based on formula. ChemSpider includes the Ketcher and Elemental editors. ChemSpider is a free service providing a structure centric community for chemists. Providing access to millions of chemical structures and integration to a multitude of other online services ChemSpider is a rich source of structure information.
Sigma Aldrich Products Catalog
Search by catalog number, name, formula, CAS registry number and more. Also contains some chemical/physical property information, FT-IR and NMR spectra, and MSDS. A free registration is required to view some information. Structure searching is available.
eMolecules
eMolecules is the world's leading open-access chemical structure search engine. Their mission is to discover, curate, and index all of the world’s public chemical information and make it globally available.

Chemical Abstracts/STNext This link opens in a new window
STNext delivers the STN content and capabilities users rely on in a secure, browser-based interface. Access requires a username and password and is only available:
10:00 PM Saturday – 5:00 AM Monday
5:00 PM – 5:00 AM the following day, Monday – Friday
5:00 PM Friday – 7:00 PM Saturday*
*On the first Saturday of each month, STN is only available until 2:00 PM
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed is the primary database for researchers in the fields of biochemistry, molecular biology, and related life sciences. It comprises over 20 million references to articles published in more than 5,200 current biomedical journals from the United States and over 80 foreign countries.