Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search multiple databases
Featured journals & magazines
The official magazine of Theatre Communications Group. Presents articles discussing contemporary issues in theatre arts and publishes 5 new playscripts each year.
One of the most authoritative peer-reviewed journals covering theatre studies. Features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production.
A peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles on performances and their social, economic, and political contexts. Emphasizing the interdisciplinary, experimental, and avant-garde, the journal covers dance theater, performance art, popular entertainment, media, sports, and rituals in politics and everyday life.
TD & T (Theatre Design & Technology)
The journal for design, production, and technology professionals in the performing arts and entertainment industry. Articles available full-text online for members on the USITT website. Full-text for articles published since 2005 is available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
TCI - Theatre Crafts International
Online full-text is available for issues published 1993-1998. Ceased publication in 1998. The library also has print issues published 1973-1992 under the earlier title Theatre Crafts
Successor title to Theatre Crafts International. Provides designers, programmers, & technicians with tips & trends, news & reviews of the latest gear, reports from the field, & industry viewpoint & commentary.
A monthly magazine that provides production ideas, solutions to everyday theater dilemmas, as well as book, CD and play reviews. Read on your mobile device using the Stage Directions App
Specialized article databases
These databases can help you find articles published in
scholarly journals and media outlets such as newspapers, magazines, and
radio programs. These databases provide in-depth
coverage of sources that specialize in theatre and related subjects.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with full-text
Find journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre, dance and related performing arts. Includes full-text for more than 170 journals and 360 books, including Dance Chronicle, Dance Research, Contact Quarterly, and TDR. Access restricted to current WOU students, faculty and staff.
MLA International Bibliography
Find literary criticism of plays. Indexes more than 4000 journals, book series and dissertations covering literature, languages, linguistics and folklore. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA). Covers articles published since 1920. Access restricted to current WOU students, faculty, and staff.
JSTOR Arts & Sciences
Provides online full-text access to the archives of more than 1300 scholarly journals, some of which date from the 19th century. JSTOR does not include recently published articles. Due to publisher restrictions, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the issues available in JSTOR.
Humanities and Social Science Retrospective
Find articles published between 1907 and 1984 in English-language scholarly journals and specialized magazines covering a broad range of humanities and social sciences disciplines.