Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A guide to critical reviews by
Call Number: Reference PN2266.S16
Useful for identifying reviews not listed in online databases. Lists reviews of plays, musicals, and screenplays published between 1909 and the mid-1980s.
Call Number: Reference PN1601 .D59
Provides critical commentaries on dramatic works of enduring popular appeal for students of theatre and literature. Volumes published since 2008 are available through Literature Criticism Online
Call Number: E-Book (ebrary)
Features a comprehensive discussion of every show that opened on Broadway during a given season as well as non-Broadway productions of importance or general interest. Includes credits and cast lists, scorecards summarizing overall critical reception for each show, and a recap of each show's financial performance.
Search multiple databases
These databases can help you find reviews of plays and other theatrical performances published in journals and media outlets such as newspapers, magazines, and
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with full-text
Find journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre, dance and related performing arts. Includes full-text for more than 170 journals and 360 books, including Dance Chronicle, Dance Research, Contact Quarterly, and TDR. Access restricted to current WOU students, faculty and staff.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Find articles published in popular, general-interest U.S. magazines and newspapers between 1890 and 1982. An especially good source for locating primary materials related to the study of U.S. history and popular culture. To find articles published 1982-2000, consult the print Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
. For articles after 2000, use the MasterFILE Premier
Literature Criticism Online
Provides online full-text access to critical essays on authors and their works. Each entry is comprised of literary criticism reprinted from journals and books. Continues several series previously published in print format. There is no overlap in content between the print volumes and the online database. The online version covers entries published since 2008.
New York Times: Theater
Provides current and archived reviews, articles and photos for productions on and off Broadway.
An online magazine publishing reviews and opinions, covering New York, Boston, Philadelphia, Los Angeles, Melbourne, and many more cities.