LibGuides: .Theatre Arts Subject Guide: Scripts & monologues

Databases

Inter-Play
Search this database to find plays published in collections, anthologies, and periodicals. Includes more than 16,000 plays. Developed and maintained by Portland State University.
FindaPlay.com
Search the catalogues of every major North American play publisher. Especially helpful when you need to find a performance edition script for a specific play, but aren't sure which publisher holds the rights.
PlayScripts, Inc.
Publishes and licenses plays and musicals. Search their catalog and read up to 90% of any script for free online.
Internet Movie Script Database (IMSDb)
Provides full-text scripts for feature films for educational use only. Scripts are prepared and contributed by the general public.

Classics: Online full-text

Shakespeare's Complete Works - William J. Rolf edition
The "Friendly Shakespeare" edition published 1890s to 1910. Scroll down for links to online full-text for all of the plays available at Google Books and Internet Archive.
Shakespeare's Works
An extensive list of Shakespeare texts available full-text on the Web. Also provides reviews and background information on various editions of Shakespeare's works.
Shakespeare App by Readdle
A free app for iPhone and iPad that includes the complete works of Shakespeare (41 plays, 154 sonnets and 6 poems, including doubtful works) and a searchable concordance to help you find key words or phrases.
George Bernard Shaw - Project Gutenberg
Online full-text of selected editions in the public domain.
Henrik Ibsen - Project Gutenberg
Online full-text of selected editions in the public domain.
Molière - Project Gutenberg
Online full-text of selected editions in the public domain.
Oscar Wilde - Project Gutenberg
Online full-text of selected editions in the public domain.
Christopher Marlowe - Project Gutenberg
Online full-text of selected editions in the public domain.
August Strindberg - Project Gutenberg
Online full-text of selected editions in the public domain.

Reference books

Index to Plays in Collections
Call Number: Reference PN1655.A15 O77 1988
ISBN: 0810820811
An author and title index to American and British plays published in collections or anthologies between 1900 and 1985.
Play Index
Call Number: Reference PN1655 .P52
An index to plays published in collections, anthologies or magazines between 1949 and 2002.

Books: Monologues & Scenes

The Ultimate scene & monologue sourcebook : an actor's guide to over 1,000 monologues and scenes from more than 300 contemporary plays by Ed Hooks
Call Number: PN2080 H66 2007
ISBN: 0823099490

Just a few examples of books in our collection that include monologues you can use for class assignments or auditions. Note the call numbers for these books and browse the shelves nearby to find many more options.

Classical monologues for women by Marina Caldarone
Call Number: PN4305.M6 C525 2006
ISBN: 1854598708
Classical monologues for men by Marina Caldarone
Call Number: PN4305.M6 C52 2006
ISBN: 1854598694
221 one-minute monologues for women by John Capecci and Irene Ziegler Aston
Call Number: PN2080 .A1226 2006
ISBN: 1575254018
A good source for short pieces appropriate for auditions or class assignments.
221 one-minute monologues for men
Call Number: PN2080 .A1225 2006
ISBN: 157525400X
A good source for short pieces appropriate for auditions or class assignments.

Subject Guide

Janeanne Rockwell-Kincanon

She/Her

Contact:

kincanj@wou.edu

503-838-9493